be happy

For this project, I wanted to tackle my negative self-talk.  It was very ambitious for me because I speak negatively to myself almost everyday.  I set goals for myself that included things like writing a a list about what I love about myself and looking myself in the eye and repeating positive things about myself.  I think that these things helped.  I’m not sure if I have made a permanent change, but I think that I have proved to myself that I don’t need to speak to myself in that way.  For the last couple weeks, I have been a happier person and have been easier to be around.  I have learned a lot of techniques that have helped me to ease out of my negative ways.  Simply accepting and dismissing a negative or worrisome thought, for example, is something that I hope to continue using.  Hopefully the new, happy, and stress-less Ashley will hang around for awhile!

